Click of the Week

Maverick Indonesia memilih testimoni saya berjudul: “Terima Amplop Atau Tidak Ya..?” dan dimasukkan ke rubrik Click of the Week. Berikut ulasan Maverick Indonesia dalam situs http://maverickid.com.

Click Of The Week: Eddy Mesakh
Everybody has a story to tell, so does Eddy Mesakh, a journalist for Tribun Batam. Through his blog “Eddy punya cerita”, he shared his stories that really interest him. He mainly discusses local issues in Batam, ranging from human interest to the local economy, but also his daily activities as a journalist.
My favorite posting in his blog is “Terima Amplop Atau Tidak Ya?” where he describes his emotional conflict inside himself about amplop.
Amplop literary means envelope in English. However, in Indonesian Journalistic terms it is referred to money given directly to journalists from certain sources, so that an article will appear bias. In English I suppose you simply call it bribery.
It’s already public secret that not all media companies in Indonesia are able to give a proper salary to their journalists. While on the other hand, there is a financial need to paying the bills, spent money for household necessities, operational cost for reporting activities, and so on. The article Eddy wrote was pretty neat though.
By the way, while I was googling about Eddy and his published work, I found that Tribun Batam newspaper has already entered the blogosphere too. Tribun Batam’s blog can be found at http://blogtribunbatam.wordpress.com/. Too bad though that the blog is not frequently up-dated.

Congratulation Eddy Mesakh, keep blogging
Popularity: 6% [?]

Saya bergembira dan berterima kasih atas penilaian dari Maverick. Padahal, blog saya bukanlah blog yang ramai dikunjungi orang. Tulisan saya itu, saya bikin lantaran gelisah dengan perilaku sejumlah oknum wartawan yang begitu mudah tergoda oleh pemberian hadiah dari narasumber, terutama berupa amplop (berisi uang).
Bagi saya, mental suka menerima amplop dari narasumber akan merusak kerja wartawan. Saya sekaligus ingin memberitahu kepada adik-adik saya di Tribun maupun teman2 wartawan lainnya di Batam untuk mulai berpikir berhenti menerima imbalan uang atau hadiah lainnya dari narasumber. Karena dengan menerima amplop sama dengan merendahkan profesinya sendiri.
Orang pasti akan mencibir segenap pekerja pers sebagai para “pemeras”. Kita pasti ikut malu jika mendengar tudingan miring itu.
Mudah2an cerita saya itu bermanfaat.Makasih untuk Maverick

Tinggalkan Balasan

